Any account that is left idle is where hacks can spew your data. Discover and delete idle accounts to reduce your online presence.
Old accounts are dangerous even if you store a password using a password manager to secure future logins. Know how and why to view saved passwords, browser logins and applications to see old accounts and remove them.
Why Old Online Accounts Pose Security Risks
There is a silent threat in present systems of enterprises which is invisible to the eyes and mind yet is still capable of holding harmful amounts of privilege.
One of the largest threats to contemporary security is dormant service accounts, which are automated, non-human identities that are established to carry out particular projects or automated operations.
Each human user may have an organization of 40 or more such accounts, most of which are not documented and age out of their usefulness. With each team change, software modifications, and stacking applications, service accounts can turn into digital artifacts with no owner and high access.
An abandoned account leaves a trace on the Internet and may be accessible to data brokers or other third parties who may want to sell personal data. These accounts are often a combination of identity information and credit cards, and are thus of great interest to hackers.
The majority of us make an account to subscribe to a new social media platform, a newsletter or a complimentary trial, but these accounts can become inactive in several months or even years.
In case of hacking of such accounts, attackers may exploit such accounts to respond to security questions or steal your live accounts. When such an account was associated with a payment option, you can also lose your money to criminals who would spend up your credit card bills.
It is the reason that it is better to empty out your online closet every now and then, and get rid of the accounts that are not used regularly. Before deleting an old account, it’s also a good idea to delete all any personal information first.
Identify Accounts associated with your email
You are prone to the risks of your data privacy since you are exposed to passwords and other recovery and personal information through dormant accounts attached to your email account. Old profiles can still hold the type of sensitive information that will come back to haunt you in a breach, scam or identity-theft attempt.
One of the key steps in knowing your digital footprint is to find out which accounts are linked to your email. The discovery of these connections will allow you to have better control over your online presence, and protect your personal and professional information.
These accounts have the tendency of being difficult to identify, but there are few ways to reveal them. The fastest and most effective is searching in your mailbox using such words as welcome, verify, and confirm your account. It can be also useful to search saved passwords and browser logins and analyze connected logins on Google, Facebook, or X.
Going over social media profiles may also provide a hint to your rest of your online profile, as they will show connections and associations of other accounts through likes and comments.
Lastly, it can be beneficial to contact customer support and resolve problems by contacting them at times to determine the connection with the related accounts.
It’s important to note, however, that contacting customer support can be a lengthy process. That is why it is advisable to invest in a security solution that would recognize accounts that are related to your email and the process becomes simpler and quicker.
Check Saved Passwords and Browser Logins
By their very nature, online accounts come with credentials that must be kept secure. At least this contains passwords and other account recovery details and that is why it is important to save and audit your saved logins on a regular basis.
This is particularly significant in the case that you have used old passwords in existing accounts or you have been a user of data breach in the recent past.
Luckily, it is not a difficult task with the help of a number of browsers. As an example, when using Firefox on a computer, you can see your saved passwords by clicking on the icon to the right of the address bar that appears in the form of three horizontal lines.
This will raise a list of all the sites which you have saved a username and a password. You can also view your passwords in Chrome by selecting the menu and then choosing “Passwords.”
This process may be even simpler in case you have a password manager on your desktop or your mobile device. A lot of password managers can show your logins by date of last use, so quickly and easily finding an account that you haven’t used in a long time but still may hold sensitive data.
Password management software can also assist you in culling down on old accounts by notifying you about weak accounts, duplicated accounts, or accounts that are listed in known data breaches.
Although they are excellent tools, they do not replace the practice of periodically checking the logins that you have saved. It is also essential to monitor all your accounts, which is vital to the security hygiene of your accounts, and the best to turn off autofill where possible.
Search Old Emails for Account Registrations
Potential security risks When activated, forgotten accounts typically contain personal data that can come back to haunt you in a data breach or a scam.
A search in your inbox using words such as welcome, verify, updates, we are updating, free trial and checking saved passwords and browser logins will also assist you to uncover services that you are no longer using.
Bitdefender Digital Identity Protection even has the capability of giving full insight into your online presence by browsing through your inbox, social sign-ins and so on to locate forgotten accounts.
After you have located an account that you no longer wish to keep, the second thing to do is to get rid of it. This must be easy and in some cases web pages complicate it. Fortunately, both in Europe and California, there are legal regulations that can compel companies to erase personal data at the request.
Identify Inactive Social Media Accounts
The policies of many of the largest social media and technological companies may have your accounts permanently closed in case they become inactive to the sufficient extent.
To illustrate, all Google accounts, which have not been used within the last two years, will be deleted- photos, Gmail, and drive data will be deleted, too. Facebook accounts can be closed in case they are inactive, and the company determines that they are breaching terms of service.
Happily, in many cases, these unproductive accounts are visible even beforehand by searching your inbox with words such as welcome, verify, and confirm your account. Also check on notification of logins or unusual credit card charges associated with such services.
There are companies which find it more difficult than it should to locate and delete old accounts. Bitdefender suggests searching your inbox to welcome messages, and going through any accounts you have linked via platforms, such as Google, Facebook, and X. X in particular, runs a clean-up cycle after 6 months, in which case, unused handles are liberated and the first one to claim them.
It is notable that Instagram tends to give sufficient warning and notifications before they delete the dormant accounts- inactivity or misconduct. With that said, every now and then, it is a good idea to check in and communicate with an inactive account.
This can stop it being lost forever and assist you in maintaining contact with people that follow you. To be even more at ease, you may download data backup of all your accounts in case you believe that they may be facing a risk of being deleted permanently.
Delete Unused Accounts Safely
Unless you delete the accounts that you no longer need, they live on the Internet and may contain various personal data, as well as payment information. This may expose you to identity theft, data breach, and other cybercrimes.
Although it may not be easy to delete dormant online accounts, it is imperative to your security. Another thing to keep in mind is that frequent account reviews and deletion can prevent the unnecessary account in the future.
Most services have an alternative way of canceling or deleting an account and not all have made it easy. Always read the support pages and fine print of the site you are thinking about to discover how to cancel your account, as well as what to do in case the service suffers a data breach or collapses.
Using identity protection tools to inventory and send deletion requests at scale can streamline the process, but it’s still up to you to review your accounts and delete unused ones.
It is also worth considering leveraging GDPR and California privacy regulations that will push certain companies into removing user data upon demand.

